Jesus Said Yes! #palmsup

By Tristine Barry

“The people walking in darkness have seen a great light; on those living in the land of deep darkness a light has dawned.” Isaiah 9:2, NIV

I was sitting in the amazing, peaceful presence of God on a bright sunny morning and the above verse came to me, because I know that Jesus is light. He is my light and my life. In Him is life and this life is the light of all mankind. He is hope. Jesus, our Precious Savior brought me out of the land of deep darkness and dawned His amazing light and life into my heart and soul. He can do the same for you, and you will never be the same.

Up to the last three or so years, I lived in terrible internal darkness; darkness that couldn’t be penetrated by anything but Jesus’ light. From middle childhood it was within this darkness I lived. A darkness called fear. A darkness called deep depression, and a cold darkness of emptiness in my soul. This breed anxiety and the strong desire, as a teen feeling alone, to turn to substances and music to ease this internal pain. This followed me all through adulthood. I never knew Jesus until His light penetrated my heart just three years ago. Once this happened the light started to spread from the Holy Spirit planting Himself into my heart and soul, through all of my being, and out into our dark world. It is my prayer and hope that I will continue to shine His light out into our world, and to keep His healing, loving, comforting light coming so strong that I feel on darkness.

Then Jesus again spoke to them, saying, “I am the Light of the world; he who follows Me will not walk in the darkness, but will have the Light of life.” John 8:12, NASB We will not lose our way in His light. How do we stay in His light? We ask Jesus into our hearts and never turn back. We say yes to His protection, love, and guidance. We say yes to His commandments, to love Him, to read His Bible-our love letter. We seek Him and He will find us. That is a promise from God.

Jesus Said Yes to God!

Jesus came to this earth as human. As it is written,The Word became flesh and made his dwelling among us. We have seen his glory, the glory of the one and only Son, who came from the Father, full of grace and truth.” John 1:14, NIV

He came from the splendor of Heaven, of His Deity, to make the ultimate sacrifice of love-the ultimate sacrifice, Himself, for us. He said YES to the Father, to save us from eternal damnation; to save us from our sins. He walked this earth as a lonely man, unaccepted and despised. Do you ever feel that way? He knows your pain. He died a horrible death, for us-for YOU! That is how much Jesus and the Father loves us. His perfect love covers many sins and when you feel His love it is like NO other.

I cannot even begin to share how much Jesus’ light has helped me so much in my life. It is LIFE changing! Saying yes to Jesus was the greatest and best thing that ever happened to my life. My depression has lifted, my fears-GONE, I feel joy, peace-everything that comes with the promises of accepting Jesus, as He gave his precious life. Don’t we owe it to the One who said yes to the Father? Don’t we owe it to at least say yes to the one who came as a humble servant to teach and give us life by giving His? I know I owe Him everything. He IS my everything and I am absolutely nothing without the light of Jesus shining in and through me.

For the Worship Arts Love

Check out the first three minutes (the first song) of this Christmas Eve Service my church, Generations Christian, did a few years ago. Rebecca Chase (Rebecca Chase Music) is the beautiful girl singing a song by the band, “Gungor”, called “Let There Be”. The video has the whole service but it goes right into the this song, which is mind-blowing to a music lover and Jesus lover. I wanted to share this as a great portrayal through music and drama of this concept of Jesus being the Light of the world. (You only need to watch the first three minutes but the whole service is great!) I hope it blesses you as much as it has me. Just scroll down and hit the play icon at the bottom of the screen.

Dear Heavenly Father, I am so incredibly grateful and thankful for You loving me enough to send Jesus to dwell with me so I may have life; so I may look to the future of endless eternity, with You. It is my prayer that I say yes to all that you desire. I say yes to inviting you into all of my life-every cell of my being, every part of my every day life. As I live my life one day at a time, I pray to stay in step with Your will and place of blessing and obedience. I thank you for Jesus, the Light of our world, who so unselfishly, through love, came to Earth to pay the ultimate sacrifice for all of our sins, past, present, and future. I say Yes to You Lord, as you are the Bright Morning Star. Please help me to come closer to You as I take each step, or leap of faith, knowing that You are right here with me, holding me with Your Righteous Right Arm. I love you, Amen.

If you are struggling with issues of life right now, or aren’t sure how to have more of God in your life, I would love to here from you. Please feel free to leave a comment. I always want to hear from you and I love feedback. I pray that this message has struck a chord in you and you begin to seek Jesus if you haven’t already. If you have, you know what I am speaking of. Please reblog this if you know someone that desperately needs to say yes to Jesus. He is my ENDLESS hope.

Love in Christ,

Tristine

About Tristine

I have a deep seated passion to educate and provide hope through writing and sharing my experiences of hope and triumph through sorrows. It is my heart-felt desire to share how glorious life can be with Jesus, my endless hope. I am excited to be part of the Proverbs 31 Compel Training (http://compeltraining.com/) program just so much I can hardly stand it! What a great tool. I have barely put a dent in what they offer and I am already benefitting. So I guess I am a "Budding Writer, and Blog Author". :) I am happily married with a man I am so blessed to have in my life. He is my biggest cheerleader! I participate in the Proverbs 31 Online Bible Studies (OBS) as I am hungry for knowledge and hungry for God. I love to learn and be among an amazing community of women. I mean AMAZING women. Though David and I have walked through many trials, we are truly blessed. I am at a point where I was able to "semi-retire" from the Counseling field and be a caregiver to my husband who is a stroke survivor. I strive to be that Proverbs 31 "woman". I pray "Free to Fly Now" touches one heart and points that heart to God and the hope and unending love He is all about. Thanks for stopping by. I encourage you to follow me for updates. I look forward to hearing from you. (If you have been directed here looking for my previous online support group I hope you will stick around and see what you will glean. I will write much about conquering anxiety, depression, and just life!) Blessings, Tristine
This entry was posted in Christian, Faith-based, God, Inspirational, Melissa Taylor's OBS, Say Yes, Spritual Healing, Uncategorized, Women's Bible Studies, Worship Arts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Jesus Said Yes! #palmsup

  1. Tristine says:

    Reblogged this on Free to Fly Now and commented:

    #SayYesToGod, #palmsup
    I had to reblog this because I do believe it is fitting to our OBS. Jesus said Yes, shouldn’t we? God Bless You Sisters

  2. Beautiful! I love how you are so open about the dark places you’ve been. It’s truly amazing that the creator of the universe loves us SO much to bring us out of the pit and onto firm ground. Full of life, joy, and contentment in Him. Thanks for sharing!

    • Tristine says:

      Thank you for visiting! I appreciate the feedback and comments. Aren’t we just so blessed to have such a loving Father? I am so amazed at my life since He saved me. It truly IS night and day! Blessings!

  3. beckmomof5 says:

    I so understand that darkness feeling you shared. I’ve fought off depression, anxiety and major insecurities my entire life! For years I was treated off and on with medication now, in my adult years, I’ve realized (personally) that my relationship with God was the only medication that I needed to ‘use’ several times a day. I got serious about 3 years ago myself…how neat we’re on the same sort of timeline on our faith journey Tristine!
    Thank you for sharing your deepest thoughts and feelings…they’ve encouraged my morning!
    God Bless You my sweet sister in Christ!

    • Tristine says:

      Hey lady! I just left your beautifully written blog. I am so happy to hear you say that about our faith journey. I have been praying many things to God and this is an answered prayer. Someone to walk alongside in the blog world of P31. Someone that has walked the walk. I feel blessed by you and I appreciate you stopping by and sharing openly too! I am looking forward to some more amazing journeys! Blessings and hugs Sweet Sister in Christ

  4. Tristine, I love this blog!! I love how open and honest you are about fighting your depression–it’s something I’ve fought since being diagnosed with PPD after having my son. I also love how you talk about the Holy Spirit planting a seed in you–it reminded me of Lysa’s video from yesterday and the seed getting out of the comfort zone from the seed packet. Thanks for sharing!!

    Kris Danko (OBS Small Group Leader)

    • Tristine says:

      Thank you sooooo very much Kris! I am sorry you have had to go through the depression. It is hard. I appreciate you stopping by and sharing with me. I look forward to many more “hops” with you.

      Love in Christ,

      Tristine

  5. Sheila says:

    Out of the darkness and into the light, His light. He said yes and saved us from our sins, accepting every flaw we have and loving us all the more. His love is perfect. Dear Lord and Saviour, let your light shine upon us and show us your way, guide us where you want us to be and show us the path to You, to saying Yes to you, to accept you fully into our hearts, to bring You into every aspect of our lives. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

    • Tristine says:

      Amen Sheila! What a wonderful thing to share. Thank you for the beautiful prayer. God is working in you MIGHTY! I am so happy to hear from you. God bless you Sweet Sister.

  6. Cher Whorton says:

    A few days ago I said yes to God and clicked on a pin that took me to the Proverbs 31website. Then I said yes to God and signed up for the When women say yes to God bible study. Now tonite as I was going through reading blogs I felt pulled to this blog but passed it up because I hadn’t gotten this far down the list yet. But He wanted me to read your blog so suddenly my screen just jumped “on it’s own” to the bottom of the screen so I had t scroll all the way through them again to gat to where I was. So I said yes again and stopped here. It was truely God who brought me here. His reason was two-fold. I have been a Christian for many years, but the past 3 years or so I have been living in darkness without hope. I have been living in complete anxiety and fear and deep deep depression. I had forgotten that God was the light of the world and that what I had to do was remember that. How could I forget that after living in his great light for so long? Thank you so much for your story and words of encouragement. And then there is the second part. I didn’t watch just the first 3minutes of the video. I watched it all. God is so, I don’t know what. Words escape me. To think he knew I would need and be ready to hear that message last Christmas and have it here for me now. That message was truely for me. It’s crunch time, it’s decision Time. Do I say yes or no? Well I say YES YES YES.
    Thank you Tristine for your words and honesty and may God bless you
    Cher

    • Tristine says:

      Wow Cher! That is an AMAZING story of a wonderful God moment. I am so happy you found hope in my message. I am SO really happy you watched the whole video! I watch it a lot because it is just incredible. I am so glad you said “Yes” and I want to share that when we are in these pits of depression and darkness, He is with us the most. He is longing for us to have child-like faith, and to save us from this darkness and have His amazing light shine on us. God bless you Sweet Sister! I hope to see you back and hopefully following my blog. I am so blown away by your story of how God led you here to Free to Fly Now. We are Free in Jesus, our endless hope. Take heart friend, He will lead you out of this darkness as He has me. Thank you so much for coming by and sharing.

  7. evfalleur says:

    Yay! I figured it out! Now I can be “free to fly” too! :) Good words & good messages. Thanks for sharing your gift of writing and what our God is teaching you.

    • Tristine says:

      Thank you for finding me and for subscribing! Yes you can be free to fly! I appreciate and value your feedback so much. I hope to see you here next week.

      Blessings my friend!

  8. crissybusybeejohnson says:

    Wow! So much of what you shared hit home. I truly have been blessed by your blog today. May God continue to bless you!!

Thank you for commenting! I appreciate any feedback also.

